Panel I: Canada’s Economic Diversification and Trade with Eurasia

• Moderator: Leon Benoit, Member of Parliament, Chair, Standing Committee on Natural Resources

  •  Jayson Myers, President & CEO, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters
  •  Hakan Tasci, Executive Director, The Turkish Confederation of Businessmen
  • and Industrialists (TUSKON)
  • Dr. Elnur Asgarli, Director, Silk Road Business Association of Azerbaijan


  • Hon. Chris Alexander, MP & Minister of Citizenship and Immigration

Panel II: Canada’s Strategic Partnership and Cooperation in Central Asia and the Caucasus

• Moderator: Hon. Percy E. Downe, Senator, Vice Chair, Senate Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade

  •  Hon. William C. Graham, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of National Defence
  •  Robert Hage, Senior Fellow, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, University of Ottawa
  •  Dr. Sarvar Gurbanov, Professor, International Economy, Qafqaz University
  •  Dr. Robert M. Cutler, Senior Research Fellow, Institute of European, Russian & Eurasian Studies, Carleton University

Panel III: Silk Road Initiatives

•Moderator: Paul Dewar, Member of Parliament

  • Dr. Fevzi Bilgin, Executive Director, RETHINK Institute
  • Stephen Millar, Former Canadian Ambassador to Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic and Tajikistan
  • Mr. Ramil Huseynli, Charge d’Affaire, Republic of Azerbaijan
  • Dr. Jeff Sahadeo, Professor, Institute of European, Russian & Eurasian Studies, Carleton University

Gala Reception

  • Hon. Nöel Kinsella, Speaker of Senate
  • Hon. Andrew Scheer, Speaker of House of Commons